October 1, 2016

Scores of NDC Councillors take oath across country

Bartica New Mayor Glifford Marshall

Bartica New Mayor Glifford Marshall

Following the October announcement of three new towns, Bartica, Mabaruma and Lethem, on Friday new mayors were elected.

Carlton Beckles was elected to serve as the Mayor of Lethem while Maxine Welch, 19, has been elected as the Deputy Mayor.

The ceremony took place at the Amerindian Hostel Compound, Georgetown.

After being elected, Welch noted that she will not disappoint her fellow councillors since she is ready to serve despite her youthful  age.

Carlton Beckles New Mayor and Maxine Ann Welch Deputy Mayor

Carlton Beckles New Mayor and Maxine Ann Welch Deputy Mayor

Glifford Marshall was also sworn-in Friday as Mayor of Bartica while Kamal Persaud was elected as Deputy Mayor.

Marshall and Persaud were sworn-in by assistant Town Clerk of the Georgetown Mayor and City Council Sherry Jerrick along with the 16 other councillors.

The ceremony took place at the Bartica Community Centre ground in the presence of Minister of Natural Resources Raphael Trotman in addition to scores of residents and government officials.

Mabaruma also swore-in its new Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

An inaugural meeting at the New Amsterdam Town Council saw Kirk Wynter being sworn-in as Mayor of New Amsterdam and Deputy Mayor is Winifred Haywood.

Twelve APNU/AFC Councillors, along with two People’s Progressive Party Councillors took the Oath of Office before Town Clerk Sharon Alexander and in the presence of Deputy Regional Executive Officer Claude Henry and Minister of Social Protection Volda Lawrence.

In the town of Corriverton, Ganesh Gangadin has been elected Mayor, while Krishand Jaichand is Deputy Mayor.

The new Mayor is confident his team of committed councillors will provide resolute service to the people of Corriverton.

About GuyanaTimes