September 26, 2016

New Anna Regina Mayor, Councillors sworn in

Right to left: Rabindranauth Mohan, Darshan Persaud

Right to left: Rabindranauth Mohan, Darshan Persaud


The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) which dominates the Anna Regina Town Council in Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam)  will be controlling the areas within the township (Three Friends- Walton Hall including Lima Sands).

At a simple yet memorable swearing-in ceremony held Friday at the Town Council, Former Deputy Mayor Rabindranauth Mohan was sworn in as the new Mayor while Dharshan Persaud former Sports and Youth Officer was named as Deputy.

Both PPP\C representatives vowed to work with the communities and councillors to enhance development. For the coalition government, two councillors Mark Mc Lean and Hakim Khan were sworn-in on the council by Town Clerk Diane Chritchlow.

Immediately after the swearing-in ceremony, the new mayor said he will be working with residents and councillors to generate revenues that will be used to keep the town clean and address the other issues since he believes in inclusive governance.

Mohan is presently supervisor for the Guyana Rice Producer’s Association and has served as Deputy Mayor since 1994 on the same council.

Mohan explained that he has no intention of raising taxes.

Mohan was born at Reliance Village, Essequibo Coast and has participated most of his life in political work for the People’s Progressive Party/Civic.

During 1989 he served as party organizer in Region 8 (Potaro/Siparuni) and later ventured to Region Two to render assistance to the party.

The newly elected councillors from the PPP/C are Haimant Boodram, Rookmin Parsram, Hazrul Bacchus, Herman Persaud, Roslyn Thomson, Reyaad Khan, Bibi Husman, Dawood Khan, Bibi  Briglall, Loaknaught Rooplall and Darshan Pershad.

About GuyanaTimes