September 28, 2016

Chase-Green elected new Georgetown Mayor

Newly elected Mayor of Georgetown Patricia Chase-Green  takes her seat as head of the Council

Newly elected Mayor of Georgetown Patricia Chase-Green takes her seat as head of the Council

… AFC’s Sherod Duncan follows as Deputy

The A Partnership for National Unity’s Patricia Chase-Green and Alliance for Change’s Sherod Duncan on Friday took their seats as Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively of the Georgetown City Council, moments after the new 30-member council was sworn-in.

Former Deputy Mayor Chase-Green took up the mantle as head of the Council after an unchallenged nomination.

Chase-Green, member of the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) was nominated to the post by Oscar Clarke, and seconded by Alfred Mentore.

She immediately took hold of the meeting and carried out the election of the deputy Mayor, but not before she expressed  gratitude: “I would like to say thank you to God, thanks to the team that worked with me particularly the people of Georgetown that supported me during elections, the party that had faith and confidence in me, and supported me” she said.

Deputy Mayor Sherod Duncan being sworn-in

Deputy Mayor Sherod Duncan being sworn-in

Meanwhile, Alliance for Change (AFC) Sherod Duncan moments later took up the seat subordinate to Chase-Green as he too had an unchallenged nomination.

Speaking to the media following his ascension to deputy mayor, Duncan shared his plans on the way forward: “This is no longer a campaign; we represent the citizens of Georgetown and represent them well and bring to reality the change that they expect from us. I am looking forward to a better working relation among the councillors, a different tone and so on with the public, with our vendors… I am really looking forward to some great things with this council. Like everybody else, I am eager to get to work.”

Both Chase-Green and Duncan made significant wins in their respective constituencies. Chase-Green was unchallenged in constituency 12.

Meanwhile, the 30 Councillors took their Oath of Office before Town Clerk Royston King. Among them were Tamashwar Budhoo, Carolyn Caesar, Malcolm Ferreira, Junior Garret, Akeem Peter, James Samuels, Trichina Richards and Salima Hinds, among others.

Meanwhile, Minister of Communities Ronald Bulkan has promised government’s full support to the Mayor and Council of the city of Georgetown, but stressed that the posts open new avenues for the new leaders to serve.

“This ascension to office represents an opportunity for them to serve the residents of the respective constituencies as well as the residents of the city of Georgetown as a whole”. He said government remains committed to the task of rendering its full support to the upward movement of central government.

According to him, the swearing-in of the two new leaders along with the fresh 30-member council represents a rehabilitation of a “damaged system”, which existed for over two decades under the previous People’s Progressive Party administration.

He said never again will Guyana go through such a lengthy period before another Local Government Election is held.

“As long as APNU+AFC is in control the elections will be held, and that is in the next three years. It is a pledge and commitment that is being given by President Granger”.

About GuyanaTimes