September 25, 2016

RHT Bakewell U-17 ‘A’ starts 2016 BCB Cricket season with 2 victories

– Anderson, Sinclair stars

The Rose Hall Town Bakewell ‘A’ Under-17 team has started the 2016 Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) Under-17 season with two comprehensive victories in the Memorex Cricket Tournament.

They easily defeated Tamarind Root of Hamshire by an innings and seventy one runs while they got past their Rose Hall Town Bakewell ‘B’ counterparts by an innings and 20 runs in the second round.

The outstanding performers were all-rounders’ Kelvin Sinclair, Junior Sinclair, Keith Sinclair and Kelvon Anderson.

Playing at the Area ‘H’ Ground Tamarind Root was dismissed for 44 in their first innings with only D. Mahadeo reaching double figures with 11 as West Indies Under-15 selectee Kelvin Sinclair claimed figures of 5-17 and Kelvon Anderson 2-4.

In response RHT Bakewell ‘A’ rattled up 177-6 with national junior cricketer Junior Sinclair top scoring with a classy 70 while Kelvon Anderson 20 supported as well. R. Mahadeo took 2-27 runs for Tamarind Root.

Batting a second time with a deficit of 133 runs, the visitors were dismissed for 63 in their second innings with only Joshua Naidu and Joshua Mahadeo offering any resistance with 17 each. Sinclair completed a good match with the ball by taking 6-12 and with match figures of 11-20.

In the second match versus RHT Bakewell ‘B’, the ‘B’ team were bowled out for 62 as Sinclair continued his remarkable bowling with 7-5 as only Tejram Dayaram offered resistance with 27 runs.

In response, RHT Bakewell ‘A’ amassed 225-4 with the prolific Kelvon Anderson scoring an unbeaten 105 (13×4) while the talented Keith Sampson supported with an attractive 90 with ten boundaries.

Left arm spinner Simon Naidu took 3 wickets for 51 runs for the ‘B’ Team. The ‘B’ team in their second innings with a deficit of 163 runs were bowled out for 58 to lose by an innings and 104 runs. Haresh Fernandes topscored with 16 while Lucas Arthur was unbeaten on 12. Sinclair 4 for 5, Junior Sinclair 3 for 12 and John Mankarran were the successful bowlers for RHT Bakewell ‘A’.

About GuyanaTimes