September 30, 2016

PPP claims landslide victory at historic LGE polls

The Opposition People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) is set to achieve a landslide victory at the recently concluded

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo

historic Local Government Elections (LGE) which were held on March 18.
LGE 2016 came on the heels of one of the country’s most overwrought General and Regional Elections in 2015, which produced results that are currently being contested by the PPP/C – the Party strongly believes it was cheated out of Government after 23 years by the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) whom it alleged conspired to rig the election.
LGE 2016 also comes after 22 years, with the current Government taking much pride in being able to bring back local democracy to the general populace.
Based on unofficial preliminary results obtained from various polling stations across the country, Guyanese have outright rejected the APNU/AFC Government.
According to the figures, the PPP/C secured a total of 747 of the overall 1166 available seats, a percentage of 64.1, whereas the APNU/AFC only received 374.
In Region One (Barima-Waini), the PPP/C won 13 seats, whereas the APNU/AFC won 11.
In the Mabaruma municipality, both the PPP/C and APNU/AFC won six seats each and as a result, there is likely to be a by-election in three months to break the tie. In the Matthew’s Ridge/Port Kaituma Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC), the PPP/C won seven seats, whereas the APNU/AFC won five.
In Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam), the PPP/C won 86 of 106 available seats; with APNU/AFC gaining 20.
The breakdown shows that in the NDC of Aurora/Good Hope – the PPP/C won 17, whereas APNU/AFC won one; NDC of Riverston/ Annadale – the PPP/C won 16, whereas the APNU/AFC won two; the NDC of Aberdeen/Zorg-en-Vlyght – the PPP/C won 11, whereas APNU/AFC won seven; NDC of Evergreen/Paradise – the PPP/C won 10, whereas APNU/AFC won eight; NDC of Charity/Urasara – the PPP/C won 15, whereas APNU/AFC won three; and in the Anna Regina municipality – PPP/C won 14, whereas APNU/AFC won two.
In Region Three (Essequibo Islands-West Demerara), the PPP/C won 182 seats, while APNU/AFC receiving 66.
In Region Four (Demerara-Mahaica), Georgetown municipality, the APNU/AFC won 25 seats, the PPP/C won two, Team Legacy won two and Team Benschop secured one.
However, it was a big win for the PPP/C along the East Bank of Demerara (EBD) and the East Coast of Demerara (ECD), Region Four. The PPP/C won 57 of 102 seats along the EBD and 100 of 156 seats along the ECD.
In Region Five (Mahaica-Berbice), 79 seats went to the PPP/C as opposed to 69 seats secured by the APNU/AFC.
In Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne), the PPP/C received 224 seats, whereas APNU/AFC won only 72.
In Region Seven (Cuyuni-Mazaruni), the APNU/AFC secured 14 seats and the PPP/C secured three seats.
In Region Nine (Upper Takatu-Upper Essequibo), the PPP/C copped three seats and the APNU/AFC received seven.
In Region 10 (Upper Demerara-Berbice), the APNU/AFC won all 21 seats.

Jagdeo reclaiming Guyana
The LGE was held in 71 Local Authority Areas which includes 62 NDCs and nine municipalities. Some 507,633 persons were registered to vote and according to the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), only 38-39 per cent of eligible voters actually participated.
Already forecasting a massive win, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo issued a statement on Saturday evening assuring the Party’s supporters that it is now one step closer to reclaiming the country.
“As a Party we will continue to work hard to improve people’s lives and to prevent democracy from sliding backward. We are on the way to reclaiming our country, saving it from ruin and destruction by the hands of those who have demonstrated their only interest in Government is to be revengeful, spiteful and discriminatory,” the former President expressed.
He noted that the impressive victories scored by his Party are a clear indication that the PPP/C was always prepared to contest LGE and could never be held responsible for its delay.
“The Party reiterates that all the delays for the holding of Local Government Elections were due to the persistent street demonstrations, legal and other challenges raised by those who used every possible means to throw up obstacles on the path for Local Government Elections,” he stated.
According to the statement, there was a Joint Task Force on Local Government Reform between the then governing PPP/C and the Opposition People’s National Congress (PNC) which deliberated for eight years with little success. That Committee was eventually disbanded by former President Jagdeo who opted to unilaterally table the Local Government Bills but then PNC Leader Robert Corbin had indicated his party’s unwillingness to support four pieces of the legislations.
Meanwhile, Jagdeo noted that the PPP/C managed to win big despite of “the threats and intimidatory tactics used by APNU/AFC Government towards residents at Bartica and elsewhere, as well as the obnoxious abuse of State resources by the Government and vote-buying handouts from the Ministry of Social Cohesion at Bartica, Mabaruma and Lethem.”
In that regard, the Opposition Leader expressed his gratitude to all supporters in the LGE.
“The PPP/C is impressed by the generosity, unity and solidarity of its supporters, members and volunteers as they collectively embrace the democratic process and delivering victory to the Party. Without every single one of you, the dream for a better Guyana would be impossible,” the statement read.

About GuyanaTimes