September 27, 2016

PPP/C member appeals Chancellor’s decision

Return of technocrat members to Parliament
The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Parliamentary Opposition is legally challenging the decision


Winston Felix

taken by the Chancellor of the Judiciary Carl Singh to allow the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Candidates to sit in the National Assembly even after outgoing Chief Justice (AG) Ian Chang ruled that they cannot.
PPP/C Member Desmond Morian filed an Affidavit in response to the Application for Stay of Execution filed on behalf of Felix and Scott.
The matter was called at the Appeal Court on Monday where Justice Singh ordered that the Attorney General Basil William file an Affidavit in Reply within 10 days to the Affidavit in Answer, that the Affidavit must serve a written submission, that the Respondent file and serve a response to those submissions within seven days and that the matter be adjourned to April 27 for hearing of the arguments.
Days after Chang ruled that Government Ministers Winston Felix and Keith Scott could no longer sit in the Chambers of the National Assembly, the Chancellor granted a Stay of Execution, allowing them to reenter parliament.
The matter before the court was filed last year by former Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister and now PPP/C Parliamentarian Anil Nandlall, against Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister Basil Williams and Clerk of the National Assembly Sherlock Isaacs.
The intention was to prove that the two serving ministers are illegally present in the National Assembly since they are technocrats.
According to Nandlall, the APNU/AFC parliamentarians are taking up posts that have been allocated in an unconstitutional and unlawful way.
In his ruling, Justice Chang stated that the Ministers’ presence as members of the House were “unconstitutional” since they were Technocrat Members.
The contention is that the Ministers’ names were on the then opposition list of representatives during the lead-up to the May 2015 General and Regional Elections.

About GuyanaTimes