May 28, 2016

Rain delays completion of Busta 20/20

The state of the Enterprise ground on Friday morning (Photo: Avenash Ramzan)

The state of the Enterprise ground on Friday morning (Photo: Avenash Ramzan)

several parts of Enterprise ground inundated

By Avenash Ramzan

Persistent rainfall on the East Coast of Demerara has forced organisers of the Busta 20/20 cricket competition to delay the completion of the tournament as the Enterprise Busta Sports Club has been deemed unfit for play.

Jowharilall Jitlall

Jowharilall Jitlall

A visit to the ground by this publication on Friday morning revealed several puddles of water on the outfield, quashing any hopes of the games being played today.

According to chief coordinator, Jowharilall Jitlall, the lone semi-final and final will be played on a date to be announced and that will of course be dependent on the weather.

“As it is now, the semi-final and final are off due to the state of the ground and we will have to reschedule the games. Of course, that would depend heavily on the weather and we’re hoping that we can have some sunshine in the coming weeks so the games can be played off,” Jitlall told Guyana Times Sport on Friday afternoon.

Host club Enterprise ‘A’ has drawn the bye to the final and will face the winner of the Ogle and Fairfield semi-final. The winning team will receive $50,000, while the runner-up will receive half that amount.

The Faifield squad reads: Ramnarine Chatura, Richard Chatura, Mustak Shaw, Deonarine Mangal, Nigel Bissu, Wazim Mustapha, Walter Baiju, Leon Targoonchandrue, Tyrone English, Leslie Tulsidas, Samlall Samaroo, Motilall Chatura, Deonarine Chatura and Davenand Samaroo.

The Ogle squad reads: Chris Pattadin, Sahadeo Ramkellawan, Andre Gomes, Tulsiram Baulkarran, Michael Deonarine, Khemraj Dindial, Ajodha Joseph, Davendra Ramtahal, Seopaul Sanichar, Sundra Ramsingh, Vishal Moonchand, Vickash Horil, David Harper and Wazim Haslim.

Enterprise ‘A’ squad reads: Zaheer Mohamed, Parmanand Dindyal, Kamesh Yadram, Roger Amit Pooran, Vivian Albert, Brijanand Singh, Bhaskar Yadram, Amit Ramcharran, Bishram Samaroo, Rajendra Chandrika, Videsh Lall, Latchman Yadram, Imran Kulwat and T. Sheoprashad.

 The tournament is being sponsored by Guyana Beverage Company.

About GuyanaTimes