May 29, 2016

Bush Lot, Preysal play to thrilling tie

Eon Abel

Eon Abel

Bush Lot United and Preysal of Trinidad and Tobago played to an exciting tie in a feature Over-40 hardball match on Friday at the Bush Lot ground, West Berbice.

At the completion of the allotted 30 overs each, both teams ended on identical scores of 180-6.

In conditions ideal for cricket, Bush Lot United batted first and were given a solid start by openers Eon Abel and Sheik Mohamed.

The right-handed Abel counted three sixes and a similar number of fours in a topscore of 54, while the left-handed Mohamed, a former national wicketkeeper/batsman, continued his fine form this year with a carefully constructed 45, which included three boundaries.

After the departure of the two openers, Bush Lot United suffered a mini-collapse, losing Kenjie Sedoc (15), Kris Ramnarine (06), Dennis Webster (00) and Corwin Wade (03) cheaply, before Martin Evans gave the innings late impetus with a breezy 30 not out.

Evans blasted three sixes and two fours in his knock. Rajendra Dilraj and Imraz Ali were the pick of the bowlers for the visitors with 2-29 and 2-32 respectively.

Sheik Mohamed

Sheik Mohamed

When Preysal batted, they were led by Rohan David, who smashed a belligerent 77 before falling in the final over with victory in sight.

With two runs required for victory off the final over bowled by Wade, Preysal lost David and mustered only a solitary run as the match ended in a thrilling tie.

David’s innings was punctuated with six sixes and six fours, but apart from Mathiew Alexander with 38 not out (3x6s), none of the other batsmen offered resistance. Bowling for Bush Lot United, Webster picked up 2-29.

Meanwhile, Preysal will be in action again today against hosts Everest Cricket Club, which is staging the game as part of activities to mark its 100th anniversary. The 20/20 contest will bowl off at 13:00 hours.

Everest has named a strong team for the game and will be led by former president of the club, Rajesh Singh.

Everest squad reads: Rajesh Singh (captain), Sheik Mohamed, Basil Persaud, Hemraj Garbarran, Rabindranauth Seeram, Lennox Cush, David Harper, Rakesh Gangaram, Ronald Jaisingh, Sudesh Persaud, Rohan Sarjoo, Jhonny Azeez, Asif Khan and Paul Parsram.

Preysal squad reads: Wazzard Ali (captain), Rajendra Dilraj, Ramesh Dookran, Ramesh Maharaj, Rohan David, Mathiew Alexander, Anthony Ragoo, Linton Ramdeen, Shiva Kanhai, Imraz Ali, Desmond Ramkissoon, Dilip Ramnath, Tyabali Khan, Naresh Ramkissoonsingh and Keetash Sookhai.

About GuyanaTimes