May 30, 2016

National XI 160-4, chasing 251 for victory


The National XI reached 160-4 in 36 overs, chasing 251 for victory against the Rest combination in the first of two practice matches on Tuesday under lights at the Guyana National Stadium. Providence, East Bank Demerara.

Up to Guyana Times Sport press time, West Indies batsman and national vice captain Shivnarine Chanderpaul was unbeaten on 67 and skipper Christopher Barnwell was on five, still 91 runs away from victory with 14 overs remaining.

The batsmen dismissed were Assad Fudadin (8), Robin Bacchus (27), Narsingh Deonarine (21) and Royston Crandon (25).

Earlier, batting first, the Rest combination posted 250-6 in their 50 overs. Out-of-favour batsmen Sewnarine Chattergoon and Rajendra Chandrika hit contrasting half-centuries.

Chandrika made 62 off 77 deliveries with four fours and a six, while the former West Indies opener Chattergoon hit an 86-ball 55, inclusive of four boundaries.

The pair was supported by the diminutive Vishal Singh (49) and the hard hitting Jonathan Foo (22).

National skipper Christopher Barnwell was the best bowler on show for the National X1, capturing 4-44. Spinners Royston Crandon and Veersammy Permaul had figures of 1-44 and 1-55 respectively.

The warm-up game is the first of two day/night games planned this week for the senior national cricketers, who are preparing to compete in the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) NAGICO Super50 tournament, starting January 30 in Trinidad and Tobago.

The second match will take place on Friday at the same venue.

All of Guyana’s games in the Super50 competition are day/night fixtures. Captained by West Indies Twenty20 all-rounder Barnwell, the Guyana team will be aiming for their 10th regional 50-over title, the last of which was won in 2005.

Back then, Guyana defeated Barbados in near darkness in the KFC Cup final at the GCC ground, Bourda in Georgetown on the strength of a Sewnarine Chattergoon’s career-best hundred.

The tournament will feature hosts Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Barbados, Jamaica, Windward Islands, Leeward Islands, Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) and International Cricket Council (ICC) affiliate side Ireland.

Guyana will open its quest for honours against Ireland in a Zone A match on January 31.

The other two teams in Zone A are Jamaica and defending champions Windward Islands. The Guyanese will then play Jamaica on February 4, before taking on the defending champions on February 8.

Guyana’s full 14-man squad reads: Robin Bacchus, Trevon Griffith, Leon Johnson, Shivnarine Chanderpaul (vice-captain), Narsingh Deonarine, Christopher Barnwell (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Royston Crandon, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble (w/k), Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton and Paul Wintz. (Rajiv Bisnauth)

About GuyanaTimes