April 30, 2016

National players win second warm-up game

– skipper Barnwell among the runs again

ChanderpaulNational captain Christopher Barnwell stroked a fluent half-century to guide the national team to a 26-run victory over the Rest Team in the second warm-up game for the senior national cricketers, who are preparing to compete in the West Indies Cricket Board’s NAGICO Super50 tournament, starting January 30 in Trinidad and Tobago.

Playing at the Everest Cricket Club ground, the national side won the game which ended prematurely due to bad light.

Veerasammy Permaul played a little cameo towards the end of the national team’s innings

Veerasammy Permaul played a little cameo towards the end of the national team’s innings

The Rest Team players, who were chasing 252 for victory, reached 194-7 from 46 overs when bad light stopped play. However, the national team at that stage of their innings was 220-6, clearly ahead of the Rest Team by 26 runs and therefore was declared the winner.

 The national team had earlier posted a challenging total of 251-9 with skipper Barnwell leading from the front with 84. The West Indies T20 all-rounder struck ten fours and two sixes in his 80-ball innings.

Barnwell, who has represented Guyana in 17 List A games, shared a crucial 74-run partnership for the fourth wicket with former West Indies captain Ramnaresh Sarwan (35) to repair the innings after they were placed at 60-3 in the 17th over.

Rajiv Ivan was unbeaten on 37 when bad light stopped play

Rajiv Ivan was unbeaten on 37 when bad light stopped play

The strongly built Barnwell, who will lead Guyana in the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board’s NAGICO Super50 competition, then put on 51 runs for the fifth wicket with veteran West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul (32), before he was eventually dismissed in the closing stages of the innings.

West Indies left-arm spinner Veersammy Permaul (19 not out), Trevon Griffith (16) and Robin Bacchus (14) were the other batsmen to reach double-figures.

 Bowling for the Rest Team, Keon Joseph picked up 3-59, while Shaquille Williams and Amir Khan claimed 2-31 and 2-42 respectively. Chanderpaul Hemraj and fast bowler Raun Johnson both picked up a wicket each.

Christopher Barnwell

Christopher Barnwell

In reply, former West Indies opener Sewnarine Chattergoon topscored with 44 for the Rest Team. He received support from Rajiv Ivan (37*) and 34 apiece from West Indies middle-order batsman Assad Fudadin, who is also part of the national squad, and Jonathan Foo.

 Leg spinner Devendra Bishoo was the pick of the bowlers for the national side with 3-27.

 The third practice match is scheduled for Monday.

Meanwhile, Guyana’s 14-man squad for the tournament reads: Robin Bacchus, Trevon Griffith, Leon Johnson, Shivnarine Chanderpaul (vice-captain), Narsingh Deonarine, Christopher Barnwell (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Royston Crandon, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble (w/k), Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton and Paul Wintz.

The Guyanese will be hunting their 10th regional 50-over title, having last won in 2005. Prior to that, Guyana won the title in 1980, 1983, 1985, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2003. (Rajiv Bisnauth)

About GuyanaTimes