May 31, 2016

Guyana hunting 10th regional one-day title, says Johnson

The last time Guyana won a regional 50-over title opener Sewnarine Chattergoon made a career-best 119

The last time Guyana won a regional 50-over title opener Sewnarine Chattergoon made a career-best 119

feels team will be very competitive

By Rajiv Bisnauth

Manager Alvin Johnson says Guyana will be going all out to secure their tenth regional 50-over title when the West Indies Cricket Board’s NAGICO Super50 tournament bowls off in Trinidad and Tobago on January 30.

The eight-team tournament, which also includes the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) and ICC affiliate Ireland, will run until February 17.

The Guyanese, who last won the title when they defeated Barbados in near darkness in the 2005 KFC Cup final at Bourda, will face Ireland in their opening game on January 31 at the Queens Park Oval in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad.

Alvin Johnson

Alvin Johnson

In addition to Ireland, Guyana will face the Windward Islands and defending champions Jamaica in Group ‘A’, while host Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, the Leeward Islands and CCC make up Group ‘B’.

In an exclusive interview with Guyana Times Sport on Monday, Johnson said is he confident his team will be very competitive throughout the tournament.

“Judging from the players available, I am confident we will be very competitive throughout the tournament,” he commented.

The selectors are yet to name the final 14-man squad, but Johnson said “taking into consideration the players that are available to us, we have a good chance of going all the way once the guys play to their full potential.”

Johnson, a former headmaster, also indicated that the adverse weather has affected preparations somewhat. However, he is hopeful the weather will change and allow the players to get in much valuable practice.

“Our sessions have been affected by the inclement weather, but nevertheless I am satisfied with preparations so far,” Johnson added.

The first phase of the team preparation commenced in December with 37 players, but it has been narrowed down to 26 for the second stage, which started from January 3 and will run until January 25.

The 26 still in contention for a place in the final 14 are: Leon Johnson, Devendra Bishoo, Veersammy Permaul, Anthony Bramble, Robin Bacchus, Assad Fudadin, Zaheer Mohamed, Royston Crandon, Christopher Barnwell, Ronsford Beaton, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Vishal Singh, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Tagnarine Chanderpaul, Rajiv Ivan, Amir Khan, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shaquille Williams, Narsingh Deonarine, Trevon Griffith, Keon Joseph, Raun Johnson, Jason Sinclair, Paul Wintz, Rajendra Chandrika and Sewnarine Chattergoon.

Guyana, the only South America side in the competition, has won the tournament nine times, the first way back in 1980. Titles were also won in 1983, 1985, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2003 and 2005.

About GuyanaTimes