September 2, 2015

Fairfield, Helena book semi-final spots

Rohit Dutchin

Rohit Dutchin

ECCCC/GT&T 35-Over Competition…

Fairfield and Helena have booked their places in the semi-finals of the inaugural Enmore Community Centre Cricket Club (ECCCC)/GT&T sponsored 35-over knockout cricket competition, following contrasting victories last weekend.

Playing at the Fairfield ground, the home team defeated Strathavon by 33 runs, while Helena sneaked home off the final ball, beating Cane Grove by five wickets at the Enmore Community Centre ground.

Batting first, Fairfield posted 136-9 from the allotted 35 overs with Walter Byrne hitting a topscore of 28. Bowling for Strathavon, Gobindram Hemraj returned splendid figures of five wickets for a mere six runs from seven miserly overs, the best bowling performance in the tournament.

However, his effort would later prove futile, as Strathavon struggled to 103 all out from 27.1 overs. R. Chatura and D. Lovell were the leading wicket-takers for Fairfield with 3-10 and 2-20 respectively.

Gobindram Hemraj

Gobindram Hemraj

In the other quarter-final match-up, Cane Grove took first strike and racked up 192 from 27.3 of the reduced 32 overs per side.

Avish Ruckram led all scorers with 42, while Charlie Pitt bagged 4-18 from 3.3 overs, including a hat-trick. Helena, in reply, knocked off the target for the loss of five wickets, winning off the final delivery via a bye.

Rohit Dutchin stroked 71, the highest individual score in the competition, as Helena reached 193-5. Darshan Persaud supported with 28 not out, as G. Jainarine picked up 4-37.

Following their victories, Fairfield and Helena will now contest the first semi-final, while the winner of the Duchfour/Perseverance clash this Sunday at Enmore will take on the ECCCC in the second semi-final.

The ECCCC made a rousing start to the competition a fortnight ago, whipping Mahaica by nine wickets.

After Mahaica batted first and posted 149-5 in a game reduced to 30 overs per innings, ECCCC cruised to victory at 153-1 with as many as eight overs to spare, with openers Javed Mohamed hitting 66 not out and Bheemraj Ramkellewan 51.

The competition, which is being organised by the ECCCC, is aimed at giving clubs from Enmore to Mahaica much needed competitive exposure.

The champion team will receive $30,000 and trophy, with the runner-up set to collect $20,000 and a trophy. Among the individual awards are trophies for the Man-of-the-Match in the final, most runs, most wickets and most catches.

Share Button
About GuyanaTimes