August 29, 2015

Guyana U-15 coach confident of winning title

Bhaskar Yadram

Bhaskar Yadram

– team departs this morning for Jamaica

By Rajiv Bisnauth

Newly-appointed head coach of the national Under-15 team, Julian Moore, believes that his team can produce Guyana’s third regional under-15 title when they compete in the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board tournament from July 10-26, in Jamaica.

“The team has had a good build-up ahead of this tournament. We had a six day stint at the Essequibo Cricket Board hostel in Anna Regina, where we went through the fundamentals of the game, we worked on all areas – the fitness area, the mental area, batting, running between the wickets, bowling good line and length and wicket keeping, so we’re 100 per cent ready and I am confident that the team will do well,” Moore said.

Asked about the combination of the squad, Moore, who represented Guyana at the U-15 level in 2000, said the team is well balanced, comprising of a maximum number of match winners; he also cited this team has the best chance of winning the coveted title.

Julian Moore

Julian Moore

Guyana won the first of its two regional under-15 titles in 1998, and has not tasted regional success at any level since 1999. Guyana’s second place finish in 2001 was its best showing since then. The Guyanese ended in the cellar position last year.

Bhaskar Yadram was elected captain and Ronaldo Mohammed, his deputy. The squad will be managed by Virendra Chintamani.

The 14-man squad, along with the coach and manager, is expected to depart the Cheddi Jagan International Airport this morning at 05:35h for Jamaica.

Guyana will be in action on Friday against the Leeward Islands in their first round encounter.

The Guyana Under-15 team reads: Bhaskar Yadram (Captain), Adrian Sukhwah (wicketkeeper), Raymond Perez, Darshan Persaud, Richie Lucknauth, Ronaldo Mohamed (vice-captain), Timothy McAlmont, Mark Williams, Sagar Hetheramani, Ashmead Nedd, Matthew Hardial, Vickram Talmakund, Christopher Latchman and Sylus Tyndall.

The six standby players are: Joel Seetaram, Jaddel McAlister, Kelvin Shewprasad, Andrew Clifford, Steve Deonarine and Joshua Harrichand.

Share Button
About GuyanaTimes