September 4, 2015

ECCB announces squad for Independence T20 Cup

The East Coast Cricket Board (ECCB) on Wednesday named a 14-man squad for the upcoming Guyana Independence Twenty20 tournament scheduled for May 26, at the Albion Sports Complex, Berbice.

Zaheer Mohamed

Zaheer Mohamed

The team known as the BK International East Coast Jaguars will be led by national allrounder Zaheer Mohamed.

Krishna Deosarran has been named vice captain while the manager is Raymond Barton and coach, Latchman Yadram.

The squad is as follows: Rajendra Chandrika, Brian Sattaur, Krishna Deosarran (vice captain), Somnauth Bharrat (wicketkeeper), Zaheer Mohamed (captain),  Vishnu Ramjit, Christopher Pattadin, Clive Andries, Surujpaul Deosarran, Emran Khan, Videsh Lall, Rohit Dutchin, Ryan Musa and  Anthony Ifill.

Meanwhile, the other three teams in the competition are Universal DVD Berbice Titans, Karibee Rice Tigers and Georgetown Jaguars. They will battle for over one million dollars in cash and prizes.

The tournament, which is being held to coincide with Guyana’s 47th independence anniversary, will feature players such as West Indies Test spinners Devendra Bishoo and Veerasammy Permaul, former West Indies opening batsman Sewnarine Chattergoon, West Indies middle-order batsman Assad Fudadin, and national players Rajiv Ivan and Rajendra Chandrika, among others.

The proceeds from the event will go towards assisting with the development of sports in the region with two first division clubs earmarked for allocations.

Leon Johnson

Leon Johnson

In addition, contributions will be made to two orphanages and two schools in Berbice and the rehabilitation of the pavillion at Albion Sports Complex, while the remainder will go towards the social obligations and community work plans for the two organisations under the Power to Change Programme.

The day’s activities will commence at 10:00h and organisers are urging patrons to come out in their numbers to support the event.

Meanwhile, the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) also named their squad for the tournament and named talented left-handed batsman Leon Johnson as the captain.
Squad: Leon Jonhson (captain), Trevon Griffith, Andrew Lyght Jr, Robin Bacchus, Shaquille Williams, Troy Gonsalves, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Saheed Gittens, Paul Wintz, Treon Forde, Seon Daniels, Jason Heyliger, Keon Morris, Derwin Christian and Christopher Barnwell.

Reserves: Pernell London, Randolph Knights, Dexter Solomon

Coach: Roderick Lovell, Manager: Shaun Massiah

Share Button
About GuyanaTimes