August 29, 2015

Clarkson and Cummings lead Rainbow Generation to victory

Norman Singh Memorial Second Division Cricket Competition…

The Norman Singh Memorial Second Division 20-over cricket competition for teams in West Berbice continued recently with Rainbow Generation of Seafield, Achiever of Lovely Lass and Cotton Tree Die Hard all winning their latest matches to advance to the next round of the competition.

Also winning was D’Edward Warriors who defeated Bush Lot United New Generation. However, that match is the subject of a protest by Bush Lot that claimed that D’Edward played someone who was not on their team list.

Medium pacer Chris Clarkson took 5 for 14 from two overs to help Rainbow Generation restrict Exhowa to 104 runs in 18 overs. Then Rainbow’s opening batsman, Dunston Cummings then slammed 50 not out (5×4, 2×6) to guide them to an eight-wicket victory.

Roshan Gaffoor’s 2 for 10 from four overs and 35 spearheaded Cotton Tree Die Hard to a seven-wicket win over No 3

Keyron Fraser’s 41 for Bush Lot United New Generation was not enough to stop his team going down to D’Edward Warriors by six runs.

The following are scores from the matches played:

At Seafield, Rainbow Generation beat Exhowa by eight wickets. Exhowa 104 in 18 overs with Vishal Bejai 40, Chris Clarkson 5 for 14, Tyson Carmichael 2 for 18 and Keno Gravesande 2 for 25. Rainbow Generation 108 for 2 in 14 overs with Dunston Cummings 50 not out.

At Cotton Tree, Cotton Tree Die Hard beat No 3 by seven wickets. No 3 89 in 17 overs with Arif Inshan 28 and Roshan Gaffoor 2 for 10. Cotton Tree Die Hard 93 for 3 in 10 overs, with Roshan Gaffoor 35, Jagdeo Persaud 26 and Alan Johnson 2 for 26.

At Bush Lot, D’Edward Warriors beat Bush Lot United New Generation by six runs. D’Edward Warriors 110 for 5 in 17 overs, with Balram Gobin 23 and Bramdat Singh 2 for 12. D’Edward Warriors United New Generation 104 for 5 in 17 overs with Keyron Fraser 41.

At No.5, the match between No.5 and Achievers ended in a tie but Achievers were adjudged winner due to their superior run rate. No 5 106 in 17 overs with Gladwin Johnson 28, Renel Frank 26, Derwin Nelson 3 for 16 and Eon Abel jnr 2 for 26. Achievers 87 for 5 in 14 overs with Kurd Griffith 30 and Travis Perry 2 for 8.

Share Button
About GuyanaTimes