August 29, 2015

RHT Gizmos and Gadget: dominant and fearless

RHTY&SC/Namilco/Bakewell Champion of Champions 20/20…

Delbert Hicks

Delbert Hicks

The Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC)/National Milling Company (Namilco)/Bakewell-sponsored Champion of Champions 20/20 cricket competition will start on April 21 and climax on May 26.

Proceeds from the competition will towards purchasing a mini-bus to assist with the transportation needs of the RHTY&SC.

ANSA McAL Trading is also on board with the RHTY&SC for this tournament, having earned the bar rights.

The tournament will feature eight teams competing in a knockout format with the champion receiving $200,000 – the biggest prize for a champion team in a tournament organised by a club in Berbice.

The runner-up will collect $100,000, while the third and fourth place finishers will pocket $50,000 and $25,000 respectively. The Man of the Match in the final will be pocket $10,000.

Shawn Perreira

Shawn Perreira

Battling for supremacy will be West Berbice, Blairmont, Bermine, Young Warriors, Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets, Port Mourant, Skeldon and Albion.

Guyana Times will profile each team ahead of the highly anticipated competition, which will be played at three venues in the Ancient County, namely, the Skeldon, Port Mourant and Albion grounds. Below is a mini-profile of the Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets team.

Over the last five years, the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC) has dominated cricket in the Ancient County at all levels and the RHT Gizmos and Gadgets (RHTGG) first division team has quickly developed into one of the most feared team in Berbice.

The team, along with Albion, will start as joint favourites in the upcoming competition.

National player Delbert Hicks is at the helm at a strong RHTGG team and he will receive support in the batting department from West Indies player Assad Fudadin, Rajiv Ivan, Dominic Rikhi, Renwick Batson, Jason Sinclair, Khemraj Mahadeo, Clinton Pestano and Royston Crandon.

Medium-pacers Pestano and Fudadin will most likely share the new ball with support from Batson. The capable spin attack is in the safe hands of leg-spinner Shawn Perriera, left-arm Ravi Narine and off-spinners Eon Hooper, Rikhi, Ivan, Loyden Lewis, Shailendra Shameer, Mahadeo and the experienced Crandon.

Eon Hooper

Eon Hooper

Promising 17-year-old wicketkeeper Askay Homraj has also been included in the squad for the tournament.

The RTHGG players are on a high, having won the Busta Champion of Champions tournament last November and the Telenec 50-over title earlier this month.

The squad reads: Delbert Hicks, Dominic Rikhi, Renwick Batson, Assad Fudadin, Royston Crandon, Jason Sinclair,   Clinton Pestano, Rajiv Ivan, Eon Hooper, Loyden Lewis, Shawn Perriera, Shailendra Shameer, Ravi Narine, Khemraj Mahadeo, Devin Baldeo, Askay Homraj and Daniel Lewis.

Share Button
About GuyanaTimes